The strangest thing that keeps happening, whenever I travel…


The strangest thing that keeps happening while I am travelling through Airways is- My luggage issues….

I have always carried luggage that has exceeded the limit kg allowed by the airlines… I have always ended up removing my excess luggage, specially the fooditems have always been given back to the people who have come to see me off.. Never ever has it been, that I have gone through the luggage checkpoint just once..

The last time while I was coming back from India, after winding up my stuff, I had around 80kgs, I was travelling through Economy Class… I had already removed 40kgs, and carried another half with me, thinking maybe 30kgs will go into the luggage, and 10 in my hand luggage, But of no use.. and this time, it was not food. Unfortunately there were clothes. To balance the weight, Pair of certain clothes were arranged separately. So I anyways had to discard the extra 10kgs. After discarding 10kgs, I still had to pay money for the extra 5kgs, to my despair!!!

After reaching Bahrain, while unpacking my stuff, I realized that, the excess baggage that I discarded was the other half of alot of my luggage that passed through the luggae point was the other halves of a lot of my clothes 😦

So yeah I have been unfortunate ALL THE TIME!! 😉 Sometimes I wonder, why dont I simply take a Business Class Ticket, but I’m even the allowance of luggage limit would be less  for me.. 😉

5 thoughts on “The strangest thing that keeps happening, whenever I travel…

  1. hi Arva,
    sometimes it seems to be difficult to own a lot of clothes 🙂
    I remember a story about a defect passenger plane, a BOEING on ground in some backyard in INDIA.
    the owner let poor inhabitants of the city sit in the seats of the airplane for 1$.
    they were happy, they said: we will never have the money to buy a flight ticket.
    but now we had the experience for only 1 $ great.
    it seems, social differences in India are great, isn’t it?
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/calcutta/
    P.S.:
    my daughter (an architect) has been in Mumbai;
    actually I am very glad, that she did not fly to Japan as planned.
    though the tickets already were bought, she followed my begging,
    to stay in Germany …

  2. Arva,
    Perhaps you need to start weighing your suitcases before you travel and carry the largest allowable hand luggage on board. I do that all the time when I travel to avoid what you described. Another thing is to have two or more suitcases and pay for the extra one anyway. 🙂
    Eliz

  3. i always weigh the suitcases eliz, but its a matter of chance.. u never knw they myt allow.. bt i always hav had a bad luck,…. thn i did strt carrying extra handbags.. n yes agn, they wr always used 😉

Leave a Reply

